First digital endpoint released by EMA (European Medicine Agency) for clinical studies (Actimyo)

For the last 50 years, tens of billions dollars have been invested to bring drugs from lab to patients, to develop the most innovative drugs & gene therapies in the hope to help patients. But one thing did not change: the way we judge the efficacy of drugs, by variables called « endpoints ».

 

For the existing variables, we still measure the time for patients to climb 4 stairs or the distance covered by patients when asked to walk during 6 minutes around two cones in a corridor of a hospital, to conclude on the efficacy of treatments.

 

The gap between the lack of good endpoint to judge the efficacy of the drugs in clinical trials and the amount of innovation that goes into therapies is what ActiMyo has bridged for the first time in2019  when the EMA Qualified SV95C for ambulant patients in DMD first.

 

Developed over 10 years by patient associations, physicians, scientists and engineers, ActiMyo is a CE marked medical device which measures evolution of patients diseases in their real environment: at home, during school, when they play outside or sit inside.

 

Based on this device and a set of complex algorithms, ActiMyo extract clinical variables which characterized patient motor function in 3D far more precisely and reliably than ever before and in their real world environment.

Premier endpoint digital approuvé par l’EMA (Agence Européenne des médicaments) pour les études cliniques (Actimyo)

 

Pendant les 50 dernières années , des dizaines de milliards de dollars ont été investis pour amener de nouvelles molécules du laboratoire vers les patients, pour développer les médicaments les plus innovants, des thérapies géniques, dans l’espoir d’améliorer la santé des patients. mais un aspect n’a jamais changé: la manière de juger de l’efficacité des traitements, par des variables appelés « endpoint ».

Pour les variables existantes, nous mesurons toujours le temps mis par le patient pour gravir 4 marches, ou la distance parcourue quand il est demandé au patient de marcher pendant 6 minutes autour de deux cônes dans le couloir d’un hôpital, cela pour conclure sur l’efficacité des traitements.

L’écart entre le manque de « bons endpoint » pour juger de l’efficacité des traitements lors des essais cliniques et les efforts investis dans les théraphies est ce qu’Actimyo permet de combler pour la première fois en 2019, lorsque l’EMA a qualifié le SV95 pour les patients ambulants atteints du DMD.

Développé depuis 10 ans par des associations de patients, des médecins, des scientifiques et ingénieurs, Actimyo est un dispositif médical marqué CE, qui mesure l’évolution de la maladie du patient dans son environnement réel: chez lui, à l’école, quand il joue dehors ou quand il est assis à l’intérieur.

 

Basé sur ce dispositif et sur des algorithmes complexes, Actimyo extrait des variables qui caractérisent la fonction motrice du patient, en 3D, de manière beaucoup plus précise et plus fiable que ce qui a été fait jusqu’ici, dans l’environnement réel de la vie du patient.